My usual word count graphic provided by Zokutou, is down. All those NaNoWriMo writers, no doubt, hogging bandwidth and whatnot.

Anyway, this one is from Writertopia:

I have to say that I am quite proud of reaching sixty thousand words.

I said this to Naoto as we both sat on the couch with our laptops with the Supersonics vs. Lakers on the tv. (very conducive to writing for me as I find it easy to ignore basket ball)

He was all like “doesn’t forcing a word count mean your novel isn’t well written?”

Of course I restrained myself from breaking his laptop over his head and explained how first-time novel writers have a hard time selling anything under seventy and over one hundred twenty thousand words.

His response was “Oh, are you going to try to sell this?”

I had to stare at him, dumbstruck, for a moment. I didn’t say “What the hell did you think I was doing all this for? The pleasure of it?”

I tried to remind myself that this was the man I love.

So I said “yes,” and left it at that.

Sheesh.

