border-collie-279x300

I’m going to tie in Trump vs. Clinton debate town hall with my mom’s plans to take my girls to see Hamilton in Chicago and also a stylistic debate over whether numbers less than a hundred should be written out in alphabet or in numerals. How’s that for a random Wednesday morning set of thoughts? It has to do with my impatience with the world. I know, I know, we’re all impatient. But my particular brand of impatience is related to wasting time on things that Aren’t. Practical. Or. Useful.

Don’t get me wrong. Starry-eyed dreamers, we need you. But then you need someone like me who can talk about what will actually work in the real world (I’m looking at you Politicians and Rochester parents advocating for 45/15 schedule and grammar police).

But I digress. Here’s where I explain how those three things in the first paragraph are related. Regardless of your political leanings, I think you might agree that Trump tends to go back to the same points in his debates and repeat them. He gets “stuck” on certain phrases. “She’s had over 30 years!” “This was locker room talk.” “We’re going to make America wealthy again.” Where he might be turning off some undecideds is that by fixating on these phrases keeps him from explaining anything substantive about HOW he’s going to do those things. Slogans are catchy and powerful, but for practical people like me they are boring. I want plans. Specific plans.

Now on to Chicago. My mom is taking my girls to see Hamilton. It’s the best thing EVER. But she found out that Amtrak from Rochester to Chicago has been 5-7 hours late every day this past week because Amtrak has to weight for freight trains to go first on the one track and apparently South Dakota’s transporting tons of oil these days. We came up with all these elaborate work-arounds until I was like, dude, we don’t HAVE to take the train. We could use a bus or airplane. Suddenly the heavens opened, a golden spotlight fell on my mom, and the angels sang. No, really.

Which takes me to the number thing. Recently I’ve been attending a local writer’s group. Its very well run. There’s just enough guidance vs. license-to-pontificate and everyone is very, very nice and supportive. Last night was the first time I encountered a small kerfluffle where ego-feelings might have been involved more than desire to help the author. It was about whether numbers less than one hundred should be written out in alphabet or numerals. Yeah, not the biggest deal. Yet somehow we spent 30 minutes talking about it. Stuck on a minor stylistic concern that will absolutely be decided by the Publisher of the ultimate book and not a bunch of writers sitting around in a stuffy room in the Rochester Library.

Fixation. It keeps you from engaging people with your plans. It keeps you from seeing alternatives. It keeps you from the delicious, almond-meal/apple/Scharffenberer’s chocolate cake you have sitting at home as a reward for being-an-introvert-and-going-to-writer’s group-anyway.

from la creme de la crumb

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 6 tablespoons butter (I used coconut oil!)
  • ¼ cup honey
  • 4 ounces dark chocolate OR semi sweet chocolate chips OR almond bark (I used lucious Scharffenberger chocolate chunks)
  • 1 grated apple
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 5-ounce ramekins
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray ramekins with nonstick spray.
  2. peel apple and grate
  3. In a microwave-safe bowl add chocolate, honey, and butter (or coconut oil!). Microwave on half-power for 30 seconds at a time, stirring after each, until melted and smooth.
  4. In a medium bowl beat eggs. Add the chocolate mixture and mix until smooth. Add almond mixture and grated apple and mix again. Divide batter evenly between the 4 ramekins. Bake for 25-30 minutes until a toothpick comes out mostly clean. Serve drizzled with chocolate syrup or sprinkled with powdered sugar if desired.
