So the funny thing about typical breast cancers is that you feel fine. There usually isn’t pain. In my case, I had no idea, no lump, nothing.

It’s the treatments that suck. So if you’re like me, you try your darndest to feel like you have some kind of control or say or “help” in the process of your treatment. There’s no way for me to help with the surgery or the radiation or chem, so I had to focus my energies on managing side effects. Since I’m not a doctor or nurse, I turned to complementary treatments. Yoga, supplements, dietary change, frozen peas, Lebed method breathing exercises, Aloe Vera.

To deal with nausea, lack of sleep, lymphedema, nueropathy, etc.

Breastcancer.org just featured a link to a study that is grading (A, B, C, D) a bunch of those based on clinical evidence so far. And I want to emphasize SO FAR because there’s not alot out there yet that really gives general populations an idea of what will work or won’t. So I always say, try it, and if it works for you, go with it. Except for some of the supplements.

  • “H” means the therapy is not recommended because research shows that it does more harm than good; doctors should discourage patients from using the therapy.

They gave an “h” to Acetyl-L-Carnitine, which is something I took while doing Taxol therapy hoping not to have too much neuropathy. Apparently I shouldn’t have. So while I don’t think much of the grading on therapies such as yoga or acupuncture between A, B, C (YOU know if it works for you), I do think it’s good to quickly scan so as to know what to stay away from.

  • Acetyl-L-carnitine (grade H) is NOT recommended to prevent neuropathy; one large study showed that acetyl-L-carnitine actually increased neuropathy.
