The Hunter
The Hunter by Jessica Gunn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a prequel story, and I am glad the first book is out already because it ends with the biggest cliffhanger very unresolved. (arrgh)

As a prequel, this story does everything its supposed to: it sets up our modern-times-with-demons world, it introduces a bunch of characters, and then it makes you care by having a terrible, unimaginable thing happen to the likable, quarter-back hero who makes mistakes and ignores his girlfriend but basically has a good heart.

On the other hand, there was a lot of fast forwarding. I understand why months have to go by: there’s a lot to pack into this story. But I was a bit bemused when something momentous (I have powers! I flubbed the big game! My girlfriend may or may not take me back after I was an insensitive jerkface!) happened for the third time and it was skipped over.

Ah well, I’m pretty sure that won’t happen in the first book of the series and I suppose one should be a bit forgiving of prequels. Off now to go read “The Hunted” which is the first book and it looks like, from the summary, will resolve aforementioned cliffhanger.

View all my reviews

