The Indian Lake Trilogy #2 Don’t Fear the Reaper by Stephen Graham Jones

I gave the first in this series 5 stars– I was so wowed by Jade Daniels’ narrative POV, the encylopedic knowledge of serial killer tropes and slasher movies, and the frenetic somewhat stream-of-consciousness pace of the narrative.

This time around while I still love the inception-like slasher trope within slasher tropes nature of the plot, the twists I didn’t quite see coming, Jade Daniels’ fierce desire to survive, and the “fun” ways people die, I also felt sometimes like I was missing half the jokes at a party.

On one hand, its awesome going along for Letha’s POV narrative as she makes decisions based on what could or couldn’t happen because of slasher knowledge, but since many of the references are off hand or sometimes instead of action descriptors we get her thought reaction that is bringing in some connection instead of describing the action–I got a little lost sometimes.

Still, getting lost in Proofrock with a killer on the loose is still more fun than your average bear, or in this case, your average ghost elk with a deadly set of antlers.

A serial killer escapes his convoy on the coldest, blusteriest night of the year, and the survivors of the Indian Lake Massacre will have to deal with more bodies. More meditations on last girl tropes 🙂